No Dessert November

How’s it going?  Anyone on board with cutting the sweets for 20 more days?  It is not too late to try to cut out desserts and treats till you have a piece of pie on Thanksgiving day and really enjoy it!

I have done ok for the first two days, I haven’t struggled too much with craving sweets and I did hide all my kids Halloween candy (hey, I can’t make my “money saving self” throw away all those chocolate bars when I could use them for Christmas baking!)

Tonight I had a sliced up pear for a snack and a cup of pumpkin spice chai tea which I honestly enjoyed.

I do miss baking so I think I might have to come up with a healthy version of pumpkin bread or muffins.  The kids and I roasted a couple of pie pumpkins yesterday so I have a whole bunch of pumpkin puree I need to use up.  I did roast the pumpkin seeds in the oven with some pumpkin pie spice, a teaspoon or so of coconut oil, and sprinkled them with a combination of sea salt, cinnamon, and xylitol.  They turned out good, I may have over baked them a tad, so they are extra crunchy, but I ate a few and thought they would be good in granola or trail mix.

Comment or FB to let me know if you are in, so excited to have some more friends/family on board!

Leave a Reply

