Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal (naturally sweetened) for lunch

Well I was feeling a little sluggish after my workout and wanted lunch fast.  I had nothing fast that was not processed (dinosaur chicken nuggets from the freezer, eww.  Although my kids think they are amazing.)  or involving a bunch of prep time.  So, I decided to make oatmeal for lunch.  My kids love oatmeal.  They eat a ridiculous amount considering their ages/sizes.  And although Richard loves the smell of oatmeal cooking, he can’t stand the taste/texture so this was a “win-win-WIN” for everyone.  (ha ha, name the show that quote is from!)

I threw this together with healthier eating/whole foods in mind and I was extremely pleased with how it turned out.  We all enjoyed our lunch and I am sitting here not eating chocolate afterwards so I always consider that a success.  Satisfaction is so important, rather than just being full!  I have learned if my food satisfies me, I am much more likely to continue to make healthy choices.  If I eat chips and salsa standing over the sink however, I am definitely more likely to make poor choices when the 3pm munchies hit.  And yes, I know only Jesus can satisfy, I am talking purely about food here!  🙂  Amazing spiritual comparison about food/satisfaction/Jesus another day.

This is random so bear with me.

In a medium sauce pan over medium high heat place 1 teaspoon of coconut oil.  As it melts mash 1-2 ripe bananas around in the pan with a wooden spoon.  Add 1 chopped apple (I used a kinda getting mushy one that has been in the produce drawer for a bit too long…) and 1 tsp of cinnamon and a splash of water if you feel the pan is getting to hot/it needs it.  Cook and stir for a few minutes until the apples start to soften and the whole thing smells delicious.  Add to it 3 C of water/milk or a combo of and 2 C oats.  (I used 1/2 C coconut milk, 1/2 C water, and about 2 C 2%milk.)  Cook and stir over medium heat until desired thickness/creaminess.  I would say this took maybe 10 minutes from start to finish.  Optional, add 1 tsp chia seeds to cooked oats.

Serve in bowls topped with applesauce, yogurt, raisins, almonds, chia seeds, or whatever you desire.  I ate mine plain with an additional tsp of chia seeds mixed in and the fruit sweetened it so nicely I really felt like it was tasty the way it was.

Here is the printable if you like printable kinds of things.  Have a great Thursday!

PS there are no pictures because it was nearly gone before I thought of it.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

a naturally sweetened oatmeal for lunch. Or breakfast.

Ingredients

  1. 1 tsp coconut oil
  2. 2 ripe bananas
  3. 1 apple diced
  4. 1 tsp cinnamon
  5. 3 C. liquid (water/milk or a combo)
  6. 2 C oats
  7. optional -1tsp chia seeds

Directions

  1. Heat oil and mash bananas over medium heat in saucepan. Add apples and cinnamon and cook and stir until softened/tender. Add liquid and oats and cook and stir until desired thickness. Remove from heat, stir in chia seeds and let stand for a minute or two to cool. Serve with milk/yogurt and all your favorite toppings! Enjoy!
Search, share, and cook your recipes on Mac OS X with SousChef!
Leave a Reply

