Praising God in the car

Well, it was one of those days on Monday.  The kind where nothing goes according to plan and God has something in mind for you, that was not on your calendar/iphone/blackberry.  

I set out to get some groceries with my girls and by set out I mean, left 45 minutes later than I wanted to because everything was taking forever that day.  I finally had all my coupons, grocery list, etc. and had my two daughters, their two baby dolls, their two purses, their two baby doll’s blankets, etc. strapped into their carseats.  I had my own purse, phone, and coats, hats, mittens, etc. because it was a chilly morning, and we were off!  On our way to King Soopers, the one on the south end of town because I like it better.  I drove the 10 minutes or so it takes me to get there and realized while squinting, my sunglasses were not in the car, so after a quick call to my dad I determined I had left them at my parents house the day before.  I pulled into the parking lot wearing Richard’s sunglasses, shut off the car and looked beside me on the seat to grab my grocery list/coupon holder and the realization hit me that I had somehow left them at home.  Nooooo!!!!!  

I took a deep breath, turned up the Veggie Tale’s CD we were listening to, and backed up the car to head back home.  The 1 year old was voicing her opinion about how she felt about not getting out of the car, the 3 year old was asking 47 questions about why we were not going in King Soopers, and I was trying not to freak out!  

So I sang along.  “I’ve got Peace like a river, I’ve got Peace like a river, I’ve got Peace like a river in my soul!”  And you know what?  I realized God wanted me in that car, driving all the way across town back to my house and then across town again to the other King Soopers on the North side because it is closer to preschool and we would have to hurry to get through my 2 page grocery game list and still make it to preschool pick up on time.  God had a plan, and he gave me a chance to model the appropriate behavior in front of my daughters and show them we are to praise Him in ALL circumstances.  

Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.  1 Thessalonians 5:16-18  

This was my class verse, my first year of teaching and if a room full of first graders can get it, I think I should be able to remember to fill my heart with joy.  

So, in case God has a plan for you today that is not on your calendar, remember to Praise Him in your car, and everywhere you are!

This is the day the Lord has made;

let us rejoice and be glad in it.  Psalm 118:24  

Everybody sing!  ” This is the day that the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it, this is the day, this is the day, that the LORD has made!”  

 

 

 

One thought on “Praising God in the car

Leave a Reply

