Day 24, healthy buns, and Shaklee laundry super powers

OK, so here we are and it has been 24 days (or so) without sugary sweet stuff.  Yay for almost a month of healthier choices.  We had a pretty good day over here.  Finally got some more fresh produce which always inspires me to feed my family and myself more fruits and veggies each meal/snack.

On a laundry note, Shaklee laundry detergent is one of my best friends.  I really, really, think it works so well on so many stains.  The recent events have required, many, many loads of laundry to clean and de-germ our household, and I am always amazed at how clean everything comes out.  To top it all off, my son woke up with a bloody nose which was evident on his pajamas and his sheets, both came out of the laundry without any stains, seriously, I was amazed. I used Shaklee Basic H (all purpose cleaner) to wipe the blood off of the bunk bed stairs (sorry if this is gross or if you are squeamish about these things, but I am trying to make a point 🙂

Anyways, my point is, if you have ever desired to have your laundry be super clean, and know that it is safe for your family (I don’t like my family rubbing chemicals on their skin from their clothes, do you?) as well as replace your current stain remover, give Shaklee laundry detergent a try.  It is excellent!  http://safecleaning.myshaklee.com/us/en/products.php?sku=00114

Here is the recipe we used to make healthier, homemade hamburger buns.  I am going to make another recipe next week using these rolls so I froze half the batch, I will let you know how they freeze.  These were ridiculously delicious, they made the hamburgers taste like gourmet burgers.

Enjoy!

Healthier Hamburger Buns

Ingredients

  1. 4 Tablespoons Active Dry Yeast
  2. 2 Cups plus 4 Tablespoons Warm Water (I used just 1 cup, and they still turned out nicely)
  3. 2/3 Cup olive oil
  4. 1/3 Cup honey (your choice)
  5. 2 1/2 TB flax mixed into 3 TB water, let set for a few minutes
  6. 2 Teaspoon Salt
  7. 3 Cups unbleached or White Bread Flour
  8. 3 Cups Whole Wheat Flour
  9. 1 Cup Oat flour or grind oats in food processor
  10. bake for about 10-12 minutes, or until nicely browned. Cool on a wire rack.
  11. Preheat your oven to 425ºF. Lightly cover the balls of dough and let them rest for about 10 minutes (or longer if you wish).

Directions

  1. In Kitchen Aid mixer bowl, dissolve the yeast in the warm water. Stir in the oil/honey, and let the mixture stand for 5 minutes.
  2. In a large bowl, dissolve the yeast in the warm water. Stir in the oil/honey and let the mixture stand for 5 minutes.
  3. Add remaining ingredients in order, flour 1 C at a time until a soft dough is formed.
  4. Let rest for 15 minutes, then divide into 16 rolls and flatten on parchment paper/silapat lined baking sheets a few inches apart.
  5. Let rest for 10 minutes or longer if you desire a bigger rise while you preheat the oven to 425 and then bake for 8-10 minutes or until nicely browned. Remove to wire racks to cool. Serve with your favorite hamburger/chicken/sandwhiches or just warm with butter, yum!
Search, share, and cook your recipes on Mac OS X with SousChef!
Full Disclosure:  I am a distributor for Shaklee.  I use all Shaklee cleaning products and LOVE them!  I would not promote them if I did not think they were amazing.  If you would like to know how to make your home healthier and safer, please let me know or click on the website above to learn more 🙂
Leave a Reply

