Where I’ve been and Day 23 ish

So…my grandpa died, (he knew the Lord, so we are glad this was goodbye until we see him again!) we took a cross country trip to attend his memorial service, drove 16 hours each way with 3 little kids, were in town for less than 24 hours and came home all within 4 days.  I did the best I could the whole trip and packed tons of healthy snacks for the road and we ate SO good for being on a road trip.  Seriously, I was so proud of our familyThen I started the clean up/laundry unpack fest while the Richard worked like a maniac for the next 3 days.  Then one child got the stomach flu.  Yeah.  So, I have apparently reached my limit.  Last night I threw caution and healthy eating to the wind, I did not work out at all yesterday and instead tried to clean and Basic G the entire house while keeping up with the kids/illness.  I think my lowest point was when Richard arrived home after 16 hours or so I was sitting on the couch watching TV and eating mint M&M’s.  Yes again.  Those apparently were not the greatest purchase as I have fallen twice to them.

Anyways, getting back on the wagon.  No excuses, stress, emotional eating, or anything else, just picking up the pieces of my last week of not so great eating and doing better.

Today was a pretty good day.  We are running a little low on produce with the illnesses and missed grocery trip, but we still have 1 banana and a few pears and if everyone is healthy tomorrow, I will stop at the store.  If everyone is not healthy, Richard will have to make a produce run.  Using the last sweet potatoes and some frozen veggies/meat we had a delicious dinner of steak (grilled after marinating in olive oil/sea salt/pepper/garlic powder), baked sweet potato fries which the kids helped make, (recipe below,) and steamed edamame and broccoli.

Sweet Potato Fries (Baked)

Ingredients

  1. sweet potatoes, I used 2 large
  2. olive oil for drizzling or spraying
  3. sea salt
  4. black pepper
  5. lawry’s seasoning salt or another seasoning blend
  6. garlic powder
  7. paprika

Directions

  1. Scrub sweet potatoes well and peel if desired, I do a rough peel, leaving some intact. Slice into fry sticks or desired shapes. Sweet potatoes are hard, use a sharp knife and slice with care! Throw into a large bowl, and drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with desired spice blend. I used a bit of salt/pepper and seasoning salt with a dash of garlic powder. Bake at 450 degrees until desired tenderness. Then when they came out of the oven I sprinkled just a bit more seasoing salt while still hot. These were really good and 4 out of the 5 of us liked them. I used parchment paper and didn’t get that crispiness I usually get for oven baked fries so I think I will line my cookie sheet with oil or use foil next time as crispy fries are the best!
Search, share, and cook your recipes on Mac OS X with SousChef!
3 thoughts on “Where I’ve been and Day 23 ish

  1. Hi Robin,

    First time here in your blog. I really like it.
    Sorry about your grandpa. I will be praying for your family and I know it feels peaceful to know that someday you will meet again.

    I would love to know your advices for the healthy snacks on family trips. We are going in our first family trip in February and I’m driving myself crazy triying to figure out how to keep Kian nice and happy for those 10 hours on the road. He gets really loud in a trip to Denver, so imagine a long trip. So please amiga tell me what helped you to make an smooth trip?

    I will trip those fries too, they sound really good.

    God bless and keep on writing!!

    Lissette F.

    1. Lissette,
      we did take portable DVD player for the kids to watch movies which was helpful. We also played “Eye Spy,” and sang lots of songs 🙂 Whenever we stopped we moved around and walked/let the kids run. I packed homemade granola bars (recipe on blog,) lots of fruit, bananas, apples, pears, yogurts, sandwiches, baby carrots, raisins, other dried fruits, almonds, popcorn, crackers and cheese slices. We used a cooler to keep lots of fresh things safe and did pack a few pre-packaged snacks such as Clif-Z bars.
      10 hours is a long time! Hope your trip goes great, thanks for your positive comments, hope to see you soon 🙂 Robin

Leave a Reply

