Day 12 and Peanut Butter Honey Granola Bars

I made my family and some friends chocolate chip oatmeal cookies.  They are delicious and smelled wonderful, so I took one bite of cookie and drank a cup of tea instead.  I am enjoying my tea and calling it a success because I really wanted  to eat cookies and just say forget it to this whole skipping the junk food month.  (It has been a stressful day…)

Anyways, about granola bars.  They are yummy and convenient to have in your bag/purse/car for a quick snack or to tide you over between meals so you don’t get overly hungry.  Yes, they are not always the healthiest thing, but it is unrealistic to keep a ziploc of washed, sliced pears in your purse sometimes.  (I have tried.  Have you ever seen the inside of a purse after someone has stepped on a ziploc baggie of pears that you forgot about in your car for 2 days and then picked up to remember to throw away and stashed in your purse and then your 1 year old found them and…well, you get the idea.)

Anyways, I have been making my own granola bars on and off for a while now.  I had a recipe I liked that was similar to a quaker granola bar if you put mini chocolate chips in it, but I did not like that it had corn syrup in it.  I have had the heavenlyhomemakers.com recipe for healthier granola bars on my list of things to try and I am so glad I did.   These are amazing, reminded me a bit of a peanut butter type rice krispie treat (scotchoroos, but without the chocolate…I was going for healthy here.  Although chocolate would be a delicious addition, next month!

Here is the recipe

Chewy Granola Bars

Ingredients

  1. Homemade Chewy Granola Bars
  2. 1/2 cup nut butter or sunbutter
  3. 1/3 cup honey
  4. 1/4 cup coconut oil (or another oil of your choice)
  5. 1 1/2 cup oats
  6. 1 cup total of any combination of sunflower seeds, dried fruit, coconut, etc. mini chocolate chips to sprinkle on top.
  7. 1 cup rice krispies

Directions

  1. melt coconut oil, nut butter, and honey.
  2. 2. Add oats, krispies, and other things except chocolate if using.
  3. press into 8 x 8 pan lined with greased foil or parchment. Press down firmly.
  4. Chill for 2 hours and remove to cutting board, cut into bars of desired shape/size.
Search, share, and cook your recipes on Mac OS X with SousChef!

Peanut Butter Honey Granola Bars

a more natural and healthy granola bar

One thought on “Day 12 and Peanut Butter Honey Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

