cake and Day 7

So on this 7th day of NO JUNK FOOD (yes, I do feel like I am yelling that, not just excessively using caps,) we all need to give ourselves a pat on the back for making it 1 whole week with healthier choices!  I am excited to say that I only blew it once with the M&M’s and pretty much ate healthy, nourishing foods and worked out every day.  This week I did week 1 of the Jillian Michael’s DVD “Ripped in 30” and ran a mile each day.  I try to aim for about a 30 minute work out 6 days a week and 1 day of REST.  Usually I get about 5 days of workouts with the DVD and 1 day of a fun work out (like a walk with the kids, or a sledding with the family.) This is the second time I am working though the Ripped in 30 DVD consistently.  I did it back in September and then just messed around alternating between 30 day Shred (also Jillian) running a little, Zumba, and random stuff for October-December.  I am ready for a new one, but saving my swag bucks gift cards to buy 6 Week 6 pack on Amazon.  I need 1 more gift card to get it for FREE and I will probably hit that this week.

If you have no idea what I’m talking about, please click here http://www.swagbucks.com/refer/RobinJoyFlores and try using swagbucks for your search engine instead of google.  You can earn about $5 a month in gift cards (I only buy Amazon gift cards with mine, best value and easiest place to redeem since you can buy lots of random stuff on Amazon.)

Anyways, the thing about the no dessert thing is I often bake dessert type things so my family is going through a little bit of withdrawal.  While I am glad they ate 8 lbs of oranges and 3 lbs of bananas this week (sheesh! My kids are 5, 3, and 19 months, can you imagine how they will eat when they are 13, 15, and 17 years old!) I felt bad they didn’t have any treats, so I thought about what to bake that wouldn’t be super tempting for me.  Well, my weakness mainly lies with fresh baked, homemade type items, so I made what I thought was the least appealing dessert for me, a cake mix cake.  Wouldn’t you know that cake smelled so good coming out of the oven I just about caved. But I didn’t!  I served the kids a piece for dessert and covered it with foil till Richard came home and had his piece.  Then I pushed it back on the far counter out of sight.  For me, it really helps having something out of site.  I try to put it in the cabinet/cover it/etc. to help me to forget about it.

So, here is the cake, covered in foil with only 4 pieces missing 🙂

Have a great rest of the weekend!

 

cake

cake mix cake with frosting and sprinkles

Leave a Reply

