spicy shrimp

I have been trying to try one new recipe each week to spice up our dinner menus. Meal planning is fun to me and with all the sweet deals we get on the grocery game, sometimes I have produce, meat, seafood, etc. that I wouldn’t normally buy, but is such a sweet deal I figure we should at least try it. Such is this recipe. We had the Pioneer Woman’s Spicy Sprimp for dinner last night and all I have to say is OH YUM! I had stockpiled a bunch of shrimp on a GG deal this summer and figured it was time to use the last one out of the freezer since it is October and all. http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2007/08/spicy_shrimp_yu/

Seriously if you have never heard of Ree, you need to check this out anyways because her website is amazing. She is a fabulous cook and I have used tons of her recipes with great success. She also has a great writing style and a sense of humor that will keep you laughing.
We did as suggested and served the pan of shrimp in the cooking juices on the table covered with newspapers. That way we all just grabbed and peeled the shrimp as we ate them. I grabbed a big loaf of french baguette to tear off hunks of and soak up the yummy sauce and served a green salad on the side so it was a balanced meal and everything.
Try this style of shrimp next time it goes on sale and I will be adding this to our regular menus for sure. By the way, this fed 2 adults and 2 children who eat like adults with about a serving and 1/2 leftover. I used 2 lbs of shrimp and a bit larger than the recipe calls for but they were perfect in my opinion.

One thought on “spicy shrimp

Leave a Reply

