Grocery Game Tip

For those of you who have never heard of the grocery game, it is a great money saving website you can try for FREE!

www.thegrocerygame.com to sign up. Please use my e mail for referral if you are new.

Now, a tip for you grocery gamers out there. ALWAYS check your receipt. This really goes not just for grocery shopping, but anytime you are purchasing something at a store. Make sure the price is what you thought it was going to be. If not, ask. Most times you will get the benefit of the doubt, “the customer is always right” But, more importantly, you will save money because overcharging happens. It has happened to me at the grocery store several times and most times I caught it after the fact and had to call customer service, and bring my receipt back to the store to get refunded. Yesterday, I would have lost out on $10.23 had I not thought my total seemed a bit high and spent the 5 minutes it took to read over my receipt and see that I had not purchased the produce item that the cashier typed in the code for and thus, was significantly overcharged. The item I bought was on sale so it was a big difference since I purchased 3.42 lbs of apples and they should have only been $1.00/lb instead of $2.99/lb which was what they rang up as. How much money do you think the grocery stores make by people not noticing and just paying the higher price? For kicks, I thought I would tally up a week of shopping here to show how much more I get for my money by using the grocery game.

For the numbers, I spent $126.85 and saved $132.47, yes, that means I got $259.32 of groceries for just over $125. This was a pretty high week for me ( I usually spent about $100) but we needed a lot from being gone at the beginning of Jan and my stockpile is not huge right now since I had a few weeks off of the grocery game over the past few months. (morning sickness, holidays, and vacation)

Another great reason to spend a bit more this week was because I shop at King Soopers and they were having a great promotion going on where you got $5 off for every 10 items you bought. I think I saved $20 this way, lots of good items on the promo that we regularly use like cheese, canned tomatoes, and coffee.

OK, I will try to attach a photo on here and the list of items purchased and amount paid after coupons, etc.

If my math doesn’t add up, please forgive me, I am more concerned with showing how much more you get for your $ than perfect algebra. I was an Elementary Education major people, math is not my strength.

Cameo/Gala Apples $3.24 for 3.24 lbs

Bosc/Anjou pears $1.69 for 1.69 lbs

Bananas $1.88 for 3.84lbs

2 packages of Dole Salad Blend for $1.60 ea

Powerbar Gel Blasts Energy Chews FREE

2 Quaker Rice Cake snacks FREE

French’s Yellow mustard $0.49

French’s Honey Mustard $0.49

Frank’s Sweet Heat BBQ sauce $0.99

3 Hunts Canned Tomatoes $0.15 ea

Hormel Chili Master Chili FREE (this item is an example of something my family will not eat, but because it was free I purchased it anyways to donate)

2 boxes Post Raisin Bran cereal at $1.69 ea

Starbucks whole bean coffee 12 oz $6.49

Fiber One Granola Bars $0.79

Quaker Granola Bars $0.99 ea

Nature Valley Granola Nut Clusters FREE

2 Huggies Diapers $6.49 ea

2 Huggies Overnites Diapers $7.00 ea

DiGiorno 200 Calorie Pizza $1.69

Dreyers Ice Cream $2.77

Green Giant Valley Fresh Steamers Veggies $0.69

Brawny Paper Towels (8 ct) $4.49

3 Kleenex Tissue 200 ct $0.74 ea

3 Ziploc Food Storage Containers packs. (Total of 12 containers) $1.16 ea

Quilted Northern Bath Tissue (12 double rolls) $4.49

2 M&M’s candy bag 12.6 oz $1.49 ea

2 Gold Fish Crackers $0.63 ea

Wheat Thins $0.70

Jolly time popcorn 3 ct. $0.67

2 Orville Redenbacher Popcorn 30 oz corn $1.99 ea

2 Coffee Mate Creamer 32 oz $1.49 ea

I can’t believe its not butter sticks $0.39

2 Kraft Philadelphia Cream Cheese $0.50 ea

2 Kraft Shredded Cheese $1.20 ea

2 Gallon Whole Milk $2.19 ea

Milk clearance 1 qt $0.75

Simply Lemonande $2.50

Frozen Fruit Mix $7.99

Hormel naturals lunch meat $3.00

Honey $6.23

3 Jimmy Dean Sausage $3.29 ea

2 dozen eggs at $0.97 ea

Foil Roaster pan $1.00

loaf wheat Sandwich bread $0.88

Kaiser rolls $1.19

I think this is everything. I have been wanting to do this for some time, but because it is rather time consuming to try and decipher a King Soopers receipt I haven’t seemed to have time to do this. Well, there you have it. Happy Shopping to all!

Leave a Reply

