Robin's JOY

March 21, 2013

Whole 30, we are 1/2 way done!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by robinjoy @ 10:13 pm
Tags: , , ,

I feel the greatest sense of accomplishment at hitting day 15.  The Whole 30 has been eye opening and we are now on the home stretch, and Richard and I both feel the cravings are in check.  We both have learned to try and like things that we didn’t think we would like Skillet Eggs (me,) and cauliflower rice (him.)  

We have eaten tons more veggies than we normally do (our kids have too!) and we discovered that fruit is a very satisfying sweet treat when it is the only sweet in your menu.  I miss oatmeal and chocolate, but I have learned a few better choices to satisfy my cravings for sweet.  I learned I love sweet potatoes with a bit of coconut butter and lots of cinnamon, and a banana with homemade almond butter feels truly decadent after a workout.  

Some great recipes I stumbled upon are Taco Soup which I basically just used 2 lbs of ground beef browned with onion and added stuff like I normally do when I make taco soup except I usually would have added black or pinto beans and corn.  I used my homemade taco seasoning instead of the spices and I used 1/2 can rotel instead of all the green chills.  I think taco soup is a wonderful one to pack with veggies, like shredded carrots, or chopped zucchini.  I added a bit of chopped bell peppers and wished I had time to shred some carrots, but I was rushing off to spring soccer practice (BRRR!) and just wanted to dump everything in the crock pot so we would have something warm to eat when we came home.  

I have made steak fajitas twice because they were so delicious.  We like to chop up the leftovers and eat them over greens for a fajita salad the next day.  

And the curry, oh the curry.  It has been 4 days since I made Chicken curry and I am still thinking about it.  I love curry, but this was ridiculously good and paleo/whole 30 to boot!  I can’t wait to have it again.  Maybe with Cauliflower rice.  

Anyways, I am all for ideas for a whole 30/paleo friendly Easter menu.  Please let me know if you have any ideas!  

 

1 Comment »

  1. You guys are very strong!!! You will make it!! you feel healthy and as a bonus look great!! is a win win :)

    Comment by Lissette — March 22, 2013 @ 4:45 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

